DUI AttorneyFREE CASE EVALUATION
The State of Florida will seek to suspend your driver’s license following an arrest for a DUI.
For immediate help, call Glenn R. Roderman at 954-764-6800
Fort Lauderdale & Boca Raton DUI Defense Attorney Serving all South Florida
Facing a DUI charge in Florida can be an overwhelming and scary experience. Driving Under the Influence charges are very common in South Florida. In 2018, on average, nearly 100 people were arrested for DUI-related charges each day of the year, according to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE).
If you are facing a DUI charge in South Florida, you certainly are not alone. We’ve helped many others successfully overcome their DUI charges with incredible case results.
DUI charges can happen easily, even if you are not legally intoxicated. In Florida, you can get a DUI charge if you’re suspected to be impaired by alcohol, drugs, or marijuana.
Even if you pass a field sobriety test with flying colors, you can still be arrested for a DUI in Florida. Even if you consent to a breathalyzer, and blow something below 0.08, you can still be arrested for a DUI in Florida.
What is a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Crime in South Florida?
DUI stands for Driving Under the Influence. To get a DUI charge in Florida, you have to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs and be in control of a motor vehicle.
Many times, officers will ask you to take a breathalyzer test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC) to see if you are above the legal limit of 0.08. The natural standard for a BAC that’s considered illegal is 0.08 or anything above that. If your BAC is much higher than 0.08 you can face a more serious type of DUI offense with stiffer penalties.
Even if you blow less than a 0.08, police can still arrest you for a DUI in Florida.
The Florida law says that anyone is considered under the influence of alcohol or a chemical substance (any illegal or even legal drug) if they are affected to such an extent that their “normal faculties are impaired.”
This makes it possible for officers to arrest people for DUI’s based on very subjective evidence and factors.
Pulled over for a DUI investigation? Here Are Some Quick Tips:
- If you were already arrested – act quickly. You only have 10 days to fight for your driving rights before they’re immediately suspended for a few months or longer. Hiring a DUI attorney within the first 10 days is imperative to fighting to maintain your driving privileges.
- If an officer pulls you over and asks if you’ve been drinking, politely decline to answer. You could say things like “Respectfully, I’m not going to talk about my day,” or “I’m asserting my right to remain silent and not answer any questions without an attorney present”.
- Never consent to a field sobriety test. If an officer asks you to perform a field sobriety test, you should always say “no,” or “no, thank you”. You are not legally obligated to do the test. You have the right to say no, and you will not face any negative consequences for not doing the field sobriety test.
- Even if you are completely sober, we advise you to never consent to a field sobriety test. The test is incredibly difficult and most people cannot “pass” sober. If you do the test, even if you’re sober, and you fail – an officer may arrest you for a DUI anyways.
- You have a right to refuse a breathalyzer test in Florida. You can decline a breath test, but be aware there are negative consequences. If it is your first time being pulled over or arrested for a DUI, denying a breath test usually results in an automatic license suspension of a few months. If you’ve been drinking, however, a high BAC will be much more detrimental to your driving privileges.
Examples of DUI Charges Defense Attorney Rodermann Commonly Defends Clients From:
- Enhanced DUI Charges
- DUI with Injury Charges
- DUI with Property Damages
- DUI Manslaughter Charges
- DUI while Boating Charges
- First-time Florida DUI charges
- Second-time Florida DUI charges
- Third-time Florida DUI charges
- Fourth-time Florida DUI charges
Consequences and Penalties for DUI Charges in Florida
Florida DUI charges come with various serious penalties. Florida DUI penalties include jail or prison consequences, as well as fines, loss of driving privileges, and much more.
Possible DUI Jail & Prison Consequences in South Florida
- A first-time DUI charge without any enhancement factors is a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida. A second-degree misdemeanor could result in up to 6 months in jail if you’re convicted. This is the lowest level DUI offense.
- A DUI manslaughter charge is the most serious DUI charge in Florida. It is a second-degree felony and if convicted you’re facing a minimum of 4 years in prison and up to 15 years in prison.
Possible DUI Fine Consequences in South Florida
- A first-time DUI, a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida, can cost you anywhere from $500 to $1,000 in fines if convicted.
- A DUI manslaughter charge, a second-degree felony in Florida, can cost you up to $10,000 in fines if you’re convicted.
DUI’s can also have negative consequences on your career, ability to get a job, or perhaps even your standing at your university or professional degree program. If you work in a professional job – especially if you are a teacher, a nurse, a doctor, a lawyer, or a dentist – you will likely need to report your arrest and the outcome of your Florida DUI case to your professionalism board.
In addition to criminal and professional consequences, you could lose your driver’s license, your vehicle could be impounded, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car, you could be placed on probation and you could be required to go to a DUI school. Needless to say, DUI charges and convictions have many multi-faceted consequences in Florida.
Florida DUIs and Commercial Driver’s Licenses
Commercial drivers are held to a higher level of accountability in cases of driving and traffic offenses. The goal is to minimize and overcome the negative consequences for DUI/DWI charges with a professional license, commercial driver’s license, and any potential employment loss. Commercial and professional drivers have their livelihood at stake with a DUI charge which is why it is vital to have a strong DUI defense attorney.
As a skilled Florida DUI defense lawyer, I’ll examine your case carefully and look for all potential defenses to the charge. I’ll aggressively advocate for you at each step of the way and help you get back on the road as soon as possible.
DUI and Driving Under the Influence Defense Attorney in Fort Lauderdale & Boca Raton, Florida
Being charged with any type of crime can be overwhelming, especially when it involves your future and livelihood.
Whether it’s your first DUI, a misdemeanor DUI, a Felony DUI, or a repeat DUI charge – our DUI criminal defense attorneys have the skills and expertise you need to fight for the best possible result on your DUI case.
Attorney Glenn Roderman and Attorney Philip Johnston have helped many people successfully overcome DUI charges in South Florida. When you hire the Glenn Roderman Law Firm, you get a skilled and compassionate team on your side to defend and fight for your rights.
Free DUI Defense Consultation for Anyone Arrested for Driving Under the Influence in South Florida
We’ve helped many people get DUI charges dismissed or mitigated in South Florida, and are ready to fight for you to get the best possible outcome on your DUI case as well.
Give us a call today to schedule your free DUI consultation. We have offices in Boca Raton and Fort Lauderdale and serve all of South Florida and beyond.
Hiring an attorney within the first 10 days of your arrest is vital to ensuring you have the best possible chance at keeping your driving privileges.
Call for a free DUI consultation with our skilled and compassionate defense attorneys today: 954-764-6800
More Google Reviews