Arrested for DUI?

We Represent South Florida Residents and Tourists accused of DUI

With beautiful beaches, great nightlife and fun restaurants South Florida is a major tourist destination. Fort Lauderdale nightlife provides easy access to alcohol. With access to alcohol comes drunk driving. The majority of those with DUI charges are not hardened criminals. They just made a mistake and suffered a lapse in judgment. DUI charges in South Florida are serious and the consequences of being found guilty are severe.  That is why it is important to hire Glenn Roderman and Phil Johnston Law to do the work for you to get you the best possible outcome.

Arrested for DUI? – Call Us at 954-764-6800 for a free consultation.

Is a DUI A Felony in Florida?

The first two drunk driving offenses in South Florida are misdemeanors. The crime becomes a felony upon a person’s third or subsequent violation.

Why is a South Florida DUI so serious?  

A South Florida DUI first conviction will cause you to lose your license for at least six months. A judge can also sentence a DUI offender to up to six months in jail for a first DUI offense. If the offender has multiple DUIs there can be longer sentencing. You will also be required to serve a minimum six-month county probation sentence under the supervision of a probation office.

There are fines, court costs, mandatory community service and a vehicle immobilization period for a DUI.  Additionally, your insurance rates will drastically increase, and you will be required to purchase special insurance.

How can your South Florida DUI Attorney, Glenn Roderman and Philip Johnston, help me?

We will help you by:

  • Getting a license to drive to and from work if you qualify
  • Going to court for you so that you don’t have to miss work or school by attending.
  • Reviewing the state’s evidence against you.
  • Attacking the state’s evidence if we discover weaknesses in your case.
  • Striving to obtain either a reduction to reckless driving or a dismissal of charges.

I’m guilty, why do I need a lawyer?

If you are guilty, then you need an experienced lawyer! The prosecutor is looking to give you the worst possible consequences.  Our experienced South Florida DUI lawyers have over 50 years of experience and know how to attack a prosecutor’s case. Maybe the officer did not have a reason to pull you over, or perhaps the officer did not have probable cause to arrest you for DUI. These are just some of the many ways our attorney’s work to get a DUI case dismissed or to get our client’s a better outcome.

police traffic stop

Can I watch the police officer’s video footage of the traffic stop? 

Yes, any video that the officer took of your DUI arrest is provided to the DUI attorney representing you on your case. The prosecutor must turn over any evidence that they intend to use at trial. This would include any body camera footage or dash camera footage regarding your performance on roadside tests, observations of you and the officer’s footage of you in the backseat.  We review the videos to look for holes in the prosecutor’s case against you to try to get the case dismissed.

I was arrested for DUI, what happens to my license? 

If this is your first offense, we can help you to obtain a license from the bureau of administrative review that will allow you to try for work purposes.  This license is called a hardship license. You have to request this license within 10 days of your arrest. Otherwise, you will have to wait at least 30 days to receive a hardship license.  We can help you to get this license.  Dealing with the staff at the bureau of administrative review on your own can be very difficult and time consuming.

Will a DUI affect my Professional License? 

Florida law has mandatory reporting requirements for professionals who have been convicted of DUI. This means if you are convicted of DUI, you will be required to report the offense to your licensing board.

What happens to my bond that I posted? Do I get my money back?

Generally, people arrested for DUI are released from jail without having to pay any money. Sometimes, a judge will set a bond. This is the amount of money you have to pay to leave jail. Upon completion of the case, it is returned to you.sobriety checkpoint ahead sign

I refused to take the breathalyzer test, does that mean my DUI goes away?

No, but the prosecutor’s case against you is now much weaker. This is because the prosecutor will have a tough time proving that you were over the .08 breath alcohol threshold.

The prosecutor will then have to rely on the officer’s subjective observations of you while you were interviewed by the officer at the traffic stop.  An officer’s opinion that you were under the influence of alcohol does not mean that you are guilty. The prosecutor must prove that you were impaired while in control of a motor vehicle beyond a reasonable doubt. A high burden you may have other facts in your case to show the jury that you were not impaired at the time of the offense.

We are committed to getting our clients the best possible outcome. Call Us at 954-764-6800 for a free consultation.

Keep in touch

Phone

954-764-6800

Serving South Florida

(24/7 Free Consultation)

Email

Offices

6400 North Andrews Avenue #505

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309

Office Info  |  Get Directions

21458 Burnside court

Boca Raton, FL 33433

Office Info  |  Get Directions
Request Free Consult
Consultation only. No legal advice will be offered and consultation does not constitute an attorney-client relationship.

Keep in touch

Phone

954-764-6800

Serving South Florida

(24/7 Free Consultation)

Email

Offices

6400 North Andrews Avenue #505

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309

Office Info  |  Get Directions

21458 Burnside court

Boca Raton, FL 33433

Office Info  |  Get Directions
Request Free Consult
Consultation only. No legal advice will be offered and consultation does not constitute an attorney-client relationship.